Aleniglipron

Structure Therapeutics

Executive Summary

Aleniglipron (GSBR-1290) is Structure Therapeutics' oral small-molecule GLP-1 receptor agonist, aimed at the obesity and type 2 diabetes markets that Novo Nordisk and Eli Lilly currently dominate with injectable and oral peptide drugs. In the Phase 2b ACCESS study (NCT06693843, n=230), aleniglipron delivered placebo-adjusted weight loss of 8.2%, 9.8%, and 11.3% at the 45, 90, and 120 mg doses respectively at week 36, with 70% of top-dose participants achieving at least 10% weight loss and no signal of drug-induced liver injury; results were published in Nature Medicine [1][2][11]. Structure has moved into two Phase 3 trials: ACCOMPLISH-1 in obesity or overweight with a weight-related comorbidity (n=3600, NCT07654361) and ACCOMPLISH-2 in obesity plus type 2 diabetes (n=1100, NCT07654374), both recruiting [3][4]. The commercial thesis is straightforward. A once-daily pill could unlock the segment of patients who refuse injectable therapy, and small-molecule manufacturing sidesteps the peptide fermentation bottleneck that has capped Ozempic and Zepbound supply. The bar is set by Lilly's orforglipron, which delivered 12.4% total (roughly 11.5% placebo-adjusted) weight loss at 36 mg over 72 weeks in ATTAIN-1 [10]. Aleniglipron's Phase 2b numbers at 36 weeks are directly in that range, with the caveat that longer treatment durations typically extend weight loss further.

Status

Aleniglipron is a novel chemical entity, not previously approved anywhere. Structure Therapeutics, through its wholly owned subsidiary Gasherbrum Bio, ran ACCESS (NCT06693843), the Phase 2b dose-range study in obesity, to completion in early 2026 and published in Nature Medicine [1][2]. Top-line: 11.3% placebo-adjusted weight loss at the 120 mg dose at week 36, no plateau, 10.4% overall TEAE discontinuation rate across dose arms, and no drug-induced liver injury or persistent liver enzyme elevations [1][11]. The Phase 3 program is enrolling on two fronts. ACCOMPLISH-1 (NCT07654361, n=3600) tests aleniglipron against placebo in adults with obesity or overweight plus a weight-related comorbidity, primary endpoint percent change in body weight [3]. ACCOMPLISH-2 (NCT07654374, n=1100) covers obesity plus type 2 diabetes on the same primary endpoint [4]. A separate Phase 2 dose-range study in obesity (NCT06703021, n=85) is complete; a Phase 2 study in type 2 diabetes (NCT07400588, n=58) is active but no longer recruiting [5][6]. No FDA breakthrough therapy, fast track, or orphan designations have been disclosed [7]. Given typical 68-72 week weight-loss registrational timelines plus enrollment on trials this large, Structure's own guidance points to Phase 3 readouts and key clinical milestones through 2028 [12].

Mechanism

GLP-1 (glucagon-like peptide 1) is a hormone the gut releases after a meal. It flips several switches at once: the pancreas releases insulin, the stomach empties more slowly, and the brain registers fullness. The receptor that senses GLP-1 sits on cells in all three places. Drugs that turn that receptor on, the GLP-1 receptor agonists, mimic the natural hormone and drive both weight loss and better blood sugar control [8]. The mechanism is as commercially validated as anything in modern medicine. Novo Nordisk's semaglutide (Ozempic, Wegovy, oral Rybelsus) and Lilly's tirzepatide (Mounjaro, Zepbound) together generate tens of billions in annual sales on this receptor, and earlier agonists (liraglutide, dulaglutide, exenatide) have been approved for years [8]. The Open Targets database ranks GLP1R among the highest-evidence targets for both type 2 diabetes and obesity [8]. Aleniglipron is a small molecule, a conventional pill-sized chemical rather than a peptide, that fits into the same receptor pocket. Two things follow. First, patients take it once daily by mouth instead of weekly by injection. Roughly a third of eligible patients refuse injectable GLP-1s, so the addressable market expands. Second, small molecules are made by classical chemistry rather than fermentation, which is precisely why Novo and Lilly have hit repeated supply constraints on the peptide drugs. The historical catch: oral GLP-1 small molecules have delivered lower absolute weight loss than injectable peptides and have shown worse GI tolerability at efficacious doses. The Phase 2b ACCESS data challenges the first half of that historical pattern.

Trial Design

The Phase 2b anchor is ACCESS (NCT06693843), a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study in 230 adults with obesity (BMI at least 30) or overweight (BMI at least 27) with a weight-related comorbidity. Primary endpoint: percent change in body weight from baseline to week 36. Placebo-adjusted body-weight change was 8.2% at 45 mg, 9.8% at 90 mg, and 11.3% at 120 mg (all P < 0.0001 vs placebo), with no apparent plateau at end of double-blind period. Secondary results at 120 mg: 86% of participants achieved at least 5% weight loss, 70% achieved at least 10%, systolic blood pressure fell 6.4 to 7.5 mmHg, and HbA1c dropped 0.28% to 0.37%. Results published in Nature Medicine 2026 by Rosenstock, Lingvay, Ryan and colleagues [1][11]. A parallel Phase 2 dose-range study (NCT06703021, n=85) collected additional safety and tolerability data [5]. A smaller Phase 2 in type 2 diabetes (NCT07400588, n=58) is active but no longer recruiting [6]. The Phase 3 program is aggressive. ACCOMPLISH-1 (NCT07654361) enrolls 3600 patients with obesity or overweight plus a weight-related comorbidity, comparing aleniglipron against placebo on percent change in body weight [3]. ACCOMPLISH-2 (NCT07654374) enrolls 1100 patients with obesity plus type 2 diabetes on the same primary endpoint [4]. Both are sponsored by Gasherbrum Bio. Total program enrollment is 4700 patients. The design mirrors the STEP and SURMOUNT programs that powered semaglutide and tirzepatide approvals. Two concerns. Neither Phase 3 trial includes an active comparator, so Structure cannot make a superiority claim against orforglipron or oral semaglutide even if cross-trial numbers look favorable. And placebo-controlled weight-loss trials of this size face real enrollment competition from at least half a dozen other late-stage GLP-1 programs recruiting the same patient pool.

Probability Of Success

Our model estimates a 10% chance this drug is eventually approved. It starts from the historical base rate for Phase 2 drugs in this area (about 35%), then adjusts using ten facts about the trial and sponsor. What moves the number most: it is helped by more secondary endpoints than usual; it is held back by the sponsor's thin or weak approval record, weak or limited earlier-phase results, and heavier-than-usual blinding. The other facts land near average for this stage, so they leave the estimate roughly where the base rate put it.

Risks

GI tolerability is the class-defining risk. Nausea, vomiting, and diarrhea drive most discontinuations in every GLP-1 program. In ACCESS, TEAE-related discontinuation was 10.4% across aleniglipron arms with no dose-response, and most events occurred during titration, which is a favorable profile relative to danuglipron's high nausea rates [1][11]. Liver safety is the second concern given class precedent. Pfizer discontinued danuglipron in April 2025 after a single asymptomatic case of drug-induced liver injury emerged in a Phase 2 once-daily dose-optimization study (not Phase 3, as sometimes reported). The DILI resolved after discontinuation, but combined with prior GI-driven failure of the twice-daily formulation, Pfizer scrapped the program [9]. FDA will scrutinize aleniglipron's liver function tests closely in Phase 3. To date, Structure reports no cases of drug-induced liver injury, no persistent liver enzyme elevations, and no QTc prolongation across all aleniglipron studies [11]. This is the most important derisking datapoint the company has, and it holds up under close reading of the Nature Medicine paper. Efficacy risk cuts both ways. Aleniglipron's 11.3% placebo-adjusted result at 36 weeks is competitive with orforglipron's 12.4% total (approximately 11.5% placebo-adjusted) at 72 weeks in ATTAIN-1 [10]. If Phase 3 extends weight loss further with treatment duration as typical, aleniglipron competes credibly. If it plateaus below 10%, the commercial case weakens sharply against injectable peptides delivering 15-20%. Execution risk is real. Structure is a small-cap biotech (ticker GPCR) running two Phase 3 trials totaling 4700 patients. Enrollment competition from Lilly, Novo, Amgen (MariTide), Viking (VK2735), and Roche (CT-996) will slow recruitment. Manufacturing scale-up from Phase 2 to commercial launch of an obesity drug is a challenge Structure has never executed. Cash runway looks adequate. As of June 30, 2026, Structure held $1.3 billion in cash and short-term investments and guided to fund operations and key clinical milestones through 2028 [12]. Quarterly burn was approximately $118 million in Q2 2026 (R&D $100.1M plus G&A $18.6M). Runway extends through the expected Phase 3 readout window but leaves limited buffer for delays or launch-preparation spend without additional financing. Commercial risk closes the loop. Even with approval, obesity drug coverage from payers remains uneven, CMS Part D negotiation is coming for GLP-1s, and Lilly and Novo have entrenched formulary positions plus deep salesforces. Structure almost certainly needs a big-pharma partner or an outright acquisition to launch at scale.

Biocosm Assessment

Watch this closely. The Nature Medicine Phase 2b paper (published June 2026) delivered numbers that reframe the oral GLP-1 category [1][11]. Placebo-adjusted weight loss of 11.3% at the 120 mg dose at week 36 sits directly in orforglipron's Phase 3 range at 72 weeks. Ten-point-four percent TEAE discontinuation with no dose-response is class-competitive and better than danuglipron's tolerability profile. Zero drug-induced liver injury cases across the program is the single most important safety signal for an oral GLP-1 in the post-danuglipron era. Structure Therapeutics' cash position ($1.3B, June 30 2026) and guided runway through 2028 covers the expected ACCOMPLISH readout window without forcing a dilutive raise, though execution risk on two simultaneous Phase 3 trials totaling 4700 patients is nontrivial [12]. Quarterly burn near $118M leaves the company reaching Phase 3 readouts with roughly enough capital, not comfortable margin. The next real signals are Phase 3 interim safety updates (watch 8-K flow) and any business development disclosure. A late-stage oral GLP-1 asset at a small-cap with clean Phase 2b data and $1.3B cash is exactly the profile that attracts big-pharma partnerships or takeouts. As of the Q2 2026 report, Structure has not disclosed a partnership on aleniglipron. The company has also not publicly disclosed detailed composition-of-matter patent expiry dates in recent filings; a molecule filed circa 2020 would typically enjoy protection into the late 2030s or 2040 with method-of-use and formulation extensions, but that specific figure needs verification against USPTO records before use in a valuation model. The $10-15B acquisition range floated by some analysts should be treated as a directional anchor, not a precise estimate. It reflects recent small-cap oral GLP-1 valuations (Structure's own market cap has traded in that band on positive data) and comparable transactions in the metabolic space, but no oral GLP-1 asset has actually been acquired at that price point, so it remains a forward-looking scenario rather than a comp-anchored valuation. Structure Therapeutics is effectively a binary bet on this asset. A clean Phase 3 readout with weight loss extending toward 14-15% at 72 weeks would validate a large-pharma acquisition. A failure or a me-too efficacy profile leaves the company with limited pipeline optionality. Next check-in: any ACCESS follow-up data, an ACCOMPLISH interim, or an 8-K disclosing a partnership.

Sources

Last updated Sep 12, 2026 · BioCosm

Explore the cosmos →