autogene cevumeran
Genentech (Roche/BioNTech collaboration)
Executive Summary
Autogene cevumeran is BioNTech and Roche's individualized mRNA cancer vaccine (also known as BNT122 or RO7198457) that encodes up to 20 patient-specific tumor mutations into a single injectable. Each dose is manufactured from that patient's own tumor sequencing data, which means every vial is different. The commercial thesis is that teaching the immune system to recognize mutations unique to a given tumor produces a more targeted, durable response than off-the-shelf immunotherapy. Two Phase 2 programs have already delivered bad news. IMcode001, the first-line advanced melanoma study combining vaccine with pembrolizumab, missed its endpoint per the ESMO 2025 readout [1]. IMcode004, the muscle-invasive urothelial cancer program, was placed on clinical hold in mid-2025 after a safety event in the safety run-in population and subsequently discontinued by the sponsors [2][10]. What remains as the lead bet is IMcode003, a 260-patient Phase 2 in adjuvant resected pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma (PDAC) testing vaccine plus atezolizumab plus mFOLFIRINOX chemotherapy (a four-drug regimen combining oxaliplatin, leucovorin, fluorouracil, and irinotecan, modified for tolerability) versus mFOLFIRINOX alone [3]. Phase 1 data in PDAC showed vaccine-induced CD8+ T cells persisting for more than three years and correlating with delayed recurrence [4][5], which is the mechanistic foundation for betting Phase 2 resources on this indication. Primary DFS readout most likely 2028-2029.
Status
Novel biological product, no approvals anywhere. Autogene cevumeran is in Phase 2 in one remaining indication: adjuvant resected PDAC (IMcode003, NCT05968326, Genentech-sponsored, currently recruiting, n=260) [3]. IMcode001 in previously untreated advanced melanoma with pembrolizumab (NCT03815058) completed with a negative readout at ESMO 2025 [1]. IMcode004 in high-risk muscle-invasive urothelial carcinoma (MIUC) post-cystectomy in combination with nivolumab (NCT06534983, n=62) was placed on clinical hold in July 2025 following a safety event in the safety run-in population, briefly resumed, and has since been discontinued by BioNTech and Roche [2][10]. Development codes are BNT122 and RO7198457. RxNorm assigned CUI 2629298 to the generic name. No publicly reported FDA breakthrough therapy, fast track, orphan drug, or RMAT designations have been announced for autogene cevumeran as of mid-2026, and no EMA PRIME designation has been publicly disclosed despite BioNTech being German and Roche Swiss. Timeline: IMcode003 began recruiting in October 2023, with study completion listed on ClinicalTrials.gov as January 2031 [3]. Adjuvant trials in this setting typically require 18-24 months of follow-up beyond enrollment completion for the disease-free survival (DFS) endpoint to mature, so a primary analysis is more likely in 2028-2029 than 2027. Interim safety and immunogenicity data could emerge sooner. Roche/BioNTech have not disclosed a Phase 3 registration plan for any indication.
Mechanism
Cancer vaccines work by teaching the immune system which cells to kill. Autogene cevumeran does this on a per-patient basis. The workflow: sequence the patient's tumor DNA alongside their normal DNA to find mutations that only exist in the tumor; predict which of those mutations will be presented on that patient's HLA molecules (the surface proteins that display peptides to T cells for inspection); pick up to 20 of the highest-ranking neoantigens (mutant protein fragments that look foreign to the immune system); encode all 20 into a single mRNA construct; formulate in a lipid nanoparticle; ship it to the clinic; inject it. Booster doses over months maintain the T cell response. The mechanistic case is stronger than most cancer vaccines have managed. Rojas et al. reported in Nature 2023 that 8 of 16 PDAC patients who received the vaccine after surgery developed high-magnitude neoantigen-specific T cell responses, and those responders had substantially longer recurrence-free survival than non-responders [4]. Follow-up published by Sethna et al. in Nature 2025 showed vaccine-induced T cell clones persisting at high frequency more than three years later and expanding again on booster dosing [5]. That level of durable, antigen-specific T cell expansion has not been documented for peptide or dendritic cell vaccines. Whether it translates into a survival benefit in a randomized trial is the open question, and the melanoma miss is direct evidence that T cell expansion does not automatically translate into clinical benefit.
Trial Design
NCT05968326 (IMcode003) is a randomized, open-label Phase 2 in patients with surgically resected pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma [3]. PDAC is the setting where a cancer vaccine most plausibly works. After successful resection there is minimal residual disease, patients have weeks to recover from surgery (which fits the 6-8 week vaccine manufacturing window), and 70-80% of resected patients recur within two years, so standard of care has real headroom. Design: 260 patients, 1:1 randomization to autogene cevumeran plus atezolizumab plus mFOLFIRINOX chemotherapy versus mFOLFIRINOX alone [3]. Primary endpoint is disease-free survival. Vaccine dosing begins after the patient has recovered from surgery and started chemo, allowing time for tumor sequencing and vaccine manufacture. Atezolizumab (a PD-L1 blocker that removes a brake on activated T cells) is included on the theory that the vaccine primes T cells and the checkpoint inhibitor keeps them active. Sponsor: Genentech (Roche subsidiary). Enrollment currently active per ClinicalTrials.gov, with study completion listed as January 2031 [3]. The design is scientifically coherent. Concerns: the three-arm intervention (vaccine plus atezolizumab plus chemo) makes it hard to attribute any DFS benefit to the vaccine specifically, since atezolizumab has never demonstrated benefit in adjuvant PDAC. The APACT trial (nab-paclitaxel plus gemcitabine) is a recent example of an adjuvant PDAC study missing its DFS endpoint despite promising earlier data [6]. Adjuvant PDAC is where good drugs go to die.
Probability Of Success
Our model estimates a 6% chance this drug is eventually approved. It starts from the historical base rate for Phase 2 drugs in this area (about 13%), then adjusts using ten facts about the trial and sponsor. What moves the number most: it is helped by its light or open-label blinding, larger-than-typical enrollment for this phase, and the sponsor's strong record of getting drugs approved; it is held back by weak or limited earlier-phase results. The other facts land near average for this stage, so they leave the estimate roughly where the base rate put it.
Risks
Efficacy: The melanoma Phase 2 already read out negative [1], which is the most concerning data point for the whole program. Melanoma is the tumor type with the highest neoantigen burden and the most responsive to checkpoint immunotherapy. If a personalized neoantigen vaccine cannot add benefit to pembrolizumab in melanoma, the mechanistic story that vaccine-generated T cells meaningfully expand the anti-tumor immune response has a credibility problem. The counterargument is that first-line advanced melanoma is already 40-50% responsive to PD-1 monotherapy, leaving less headroom, and that minimal-residual-disease settings (adjuvant PDAC) are where a vaccine should perform best. Safety: The MIUC program (IMcode004) was placed on clinical hold in mid-2025 after a safety event in the safety run-in population and subsequently discontinued [2][10]. Sponsors have not publicly detailed the specific adverse event that triggered the hold. This is a negative safety-precedent for the PDAC program: the earlier characterization that no mechanism-based toxicity had derailed the program no longer holds. Cytokine release symptoms (fever, chills, fatigue) had been common but transient across the Phase 1 solid-tumor experience [8]. Execution: The 6-8 week manufacturing turnaround from biopsy to first dose is workable for adjuvant settings but a hard constraint for metastatic disease. Coordinating tumor sequencing, neoantigen prediction, GMP mRNA synthesis, LNP formulation, and cold-chain delivery is operationally complex; scaling to thousands of patients per year requires infrastructure that BioNTech has not publicly disclosed at that capacity. Commercial: Even a positive readout raises hard questions. Per-patient custom manufacturing means high COGS and premium pricing (comparisons will be made to CAR-T therapies pricing above $400K). Payers will resist a personalized vaccine that adds cost on top of standard chemo unless the DFS or OS benefit is unambiguous.
Biocosm Assessment
Worth watching, with realistic expectations. The PDAC readout is the highest-signal event in the cancer vaccine field for the next 24-36 months. If IMcode003 [3] shows a DFS hazard ratio around 0.60 or better versus mFOLFIRINOX alone (meaning the vaccine arm would experience roughly 40% fewer recurrence or death events at any given time point compared to chemo alone), this validates individualized neoantigen vaccines as a category and BioNTech's mRNA oncology platform beyond COVID. If it misses like melanoma did, the modality moves toward the same graveyard as prior cancer vaccine categories, and BioNTech's oncology thesis takes a real hit. The MIUC discontinuation [2][10] is not benign reprioritization; it is a safety-driven program death, and investors should weight it as a negative catalyst, not a scope-narrowing decision. Commercial ceiling: adjuvant PDAC is a narrow market. Roughly 62,000 US pancreatic cancer diagnoses per year, with only 10-15% resectable at diagnosis, yields an addressable pool near 7,000-9,000 US surgically resected cases annually. Even at CAR-T-style pricing, peak US revenue from adjuvant PDAC alone would be modest relative to the R&D and manufacturing investment; the equity thesis requires expansion into additional tumor types. Company context: BioNTech's revenue peaked in 2021 at approximately €18.98B, was approximately €17.3B in 2022, and declined to roughly €2.8B in 2024 as COVID demand normalized [9]. The oncology pipeline (including autogene cevumeran, BNT323 HER2 ADC partnered with Duality, and CAR-T programs) is the multi-year story that has to work for the equity thesis. Roche carries the vaccine program at low incremental cost against its 2024 reported revenue of approximately CHF 60.5B (approximately $68.9B USD) [11] and has broader oncology franchises to fall back on if it fails. Competitively, Moderna and Merck's mRNA-4157 (intismeran autogene) in adjuvant melanoma is the closest direct comparator and posted positive Phase 2b RFS data; a mRNA-4157 Phase 3 win would put pressure on autogene cevumeran to differentiate. What would make this a signal: any interim look showing DFS separation in PDAC, or publication of longer-term T cell persistence data. Check back late 2026 for interim signals, 2028-2029 for the primary PDAC analysis.
Sources
[10]Roche 2024 Annual Report - full-year sales approximately CHF 60.5B (~$68.9B USD)
Last updated Aug 8, 2026 · BioCosm
Explore the cosmos →